Dulal Chandra Pradhan quits Congress membership following Sambalpur MP candidacy change

0 55

Bhubaneswar, (Reporterspen), April 29: Dulal Chandra Pradhan, who was recently replaced as the Sambalpur MP candidate by the Congress party, tendered his resignation from the primary membership of Congress in Odisha on Monday. In his resignation letter addressed to OPCC president Sarat Pattanayak, Pradhan emphasized his unwavering commitment to Sambalpur’s future and welfare agenda.

The reshuffle in the list of Lok Sabha candidates saw former MP Nagendra Pradhan replacing Dulal Chandra Pradhan in Sambalpur, altering the party’s previously announced lineup. Nagendra Pradhan, a former minister in the Naveen Patnaik government, had previously won the Sambalpur Lok Sabha seat in 2014 under the BJD banner before joining Congress on April 25.

This move follows a series of alterations within the party’s candidate roster. Previously, Mohan Hembram’s ticket for the Keonjhar Lok Sabha seat was revoked, with Binod Bihar Nayak stepping in as his replacement. Additionally, former India hockey captain Prabodh Tirkey resigned from Congress after being replaced in the Talasara Assembly seat, subsequently joining BJP.

Further adjustments were made in various assembly segments, including Digapahandi, Baliguda, Kabisuryanagar, Kantamal, and Jaydev, before the commencement of nomination filing. Notably, changes were also made on April 28 for the Baripada and Khandapada assembly seats, with Pramod Hembram and Baijayantimala Mohanty nominated in place of Badal Hembram and Manoj Pradhan, respectively.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy