Odisha election update: BJD presents sixth candidate lineup, Varsha Priyadarshini enters political fray

0 63

Bhubaneswar, (Reporterspen), April 20: The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) unveiled its 6th list of candidates for the forthcoming Assembly elections in Odisha on Saturday. In a video message, BJD president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik disclosed the fresh roster of contenders.

Among the notable inclusions, Ollywood actor Varsha Priyadarshini, who recently joined the party, secured the nomination for the Barchana Assembly seat in Jajpur district. Her entry into BJD followed her ex-husband and actor-turned-politician Anubhav Mohanty’s switch to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). This marks Varsha’s debut electoral campaign.

Likewise, former Minister Ganeswar Behera, who parted ways with the Congress to join BJD, has been designated as the candidate for the prominent Kendrapada Assembly seat. The seat was previously held by senior BJD leader and former Minister Sashi Bhushan Behera.

In another significant development, former MLA Sanatan Mahakud has been nominated by BJD to contest from the Champua Assembly constituency in Keonjhar district. Sanatan, known for his influence in the mineral-rich region, has close ties to the mining industry.

The complete list of BJD candidates includes:
Chilika: Raghunath Sahu
Andandpur: Abhimanyu Sethi
Saraskana: Debasish Marandi
Karanjia: Basanti Hembrum
Remuna: Bidyasmita Mahalik
Simulia: Subhasini Sahu
Barchana: Varsha Priyadarshini
Kendrapara: Ganeswar Behera
Champua: Sanatan Mahakud

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy