Odisha election update: Voter turnout reaches 75.68% in phase one

0 76

Bhubaneswar, (Reporterspen), May 15: The final voter turnout for the first-phase Lok Sabha and Assembly elections in Odisha was announced at 75.68 percent by election officials on Wednesday. According to the office of Odisha’s Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), this figure excludes votes cast through postal ballots by service voters, those facilitated at centers, and home voting options.

Voting took place on Monday across four Lok Sabha constituencies—Berhampur, Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, and Koraput—along with 28 Assembly constituencies under them.

Nabarangpur Lok Sabha constituency recorded the highest turnout at 82.16 percent, followed by Kalahandi and Koraput at 77.90 percent and 77.53 percent, respectively. Berhampur saw the lowest turnout at 65.41 percent.

Polling across 7,303 booths in the four Lok Sabha zones commenced at 7 am on Monday, with some initial issues regarding EVMs requiring replacement of control units, ballot units, and VVPATs. The closing time varied based on the number of voters in line, concluding by 6 pm.

Despite being embroiled in a border dispute with Andhra Pradesh, the disputed Kotia panchayat witnessed a robust turnout of 76 percent, surpassing the 2019 general election turnout of 74.77 percent, as enthusiastic voters exercised their franchise.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy