BJD and Congress field new faces, BJP Relying on veteran leaders in Dhenkanal

0 51

Dhenkanal, (Reporterspen), April 17: In the Dhenkanal parliamentary constituency, both the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) and Congress have introduced fresh contenders, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) pins hopes on seasoned leaders.

In a bid to secure the constituency, BJD and Congress have brought forth new candidates. The BJP, on the other hand, places its trust in candidates with a history of contesting.

Congress’s Kamakhya Prasad Singh Deo clinched victory in the 1999 elections, but since 2004, BJD has dominated the seat. This time, Congress aims to capitalize on Sasmita Behera’s experience, hoping to unite the party and secure traditional votes.

Meanwhile, BJD has nominated a newcomer, young doctor Avinash Samal, aiming to bolster its hold on the constituency. Despite his political inexperience, Samal hails from a politically active family, which might work to his advantage, especially with the support of the seven assembly constituencies under the Dhenkanal parliamentary jurisdiction.

For the BJP, Rudra Narayan Pani, a familiar face since 2009, is vying for victory after the party’s 43 percent vote share in 2019. Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan’s consistent efforts further underscore BJP’s determination to clinch the seat.

With elections scheduled for June 4, the battleground awaits the verdict of the electorate, with BJD’s Dr. Avinash Samal, BJP’s Rudra Narayan Pani, and Congress’s Sasmita Behera in contention.

In the 2019 elections, BJD’s Mahesh Sahu secured 46.21% of the votes, BJP’s Rudra Narayan Panigarnered 43.00%, while Congress’s Kamakhya Prasad Singh Deo trailed at 7.10%. Similarly, in 2014, BJD, BJP, and Congress obtained 43.50%, 30.32%, and 20.52% of the votes, respectively.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy